

General Palmer Award Nomination Form

THE VOICE OF COLORADO'S ENGINEERING INDUSTRY

www.acec-co.org | 800 Grant St., Ste. 100 + Denver, CO 80203-2944 | 303.832.2200 phone

This award is given to an engineer who has contributed to the state of Colorado, received recognition in the community, made an advancement to the engineering community, and had an impact on future generations. The General Palmer award is for an engineer (prefer a PE but not required) that is outside the consulting community. The award will be presented during the ACEC Colorado Annual Conference on Wednesday, May 4, 2023. *Please consider Colorado engineers outside of the consulting industry.*

- A. Name of Award: General Palmer Award
- B. Nomination Deadline: Friday, March 17, 2023
- C. **Evaluation of Nominees:** Nominees are evaluated based on awards criteria and a recipient is selected by ACEC Colorado Board of Directors.
- D. Eligibility Requirements
 - 1. Colorado engineer
 - 2. Contribution to the State of Colorado
 - 3. Recognition in the community

- 4. Advancement to the engineering community
- 5. Impact of contributions on future generations
- E. **Nomination Process:** Nominators must answer #3 through #6 in a Word document (limit two pages) that is sent via email to email@acec-co.org by Friday, March 17, 2023.
 - - 3. How has the nominee contributed to the state of Colorado?
 - 4. How has the nominee been recognized in the community?
 - 5. How has the nominee advanced the engineering community?
 - 6. What impact do you anticipate the nominee's contributions will have on future generations?
 - 7. Include a formal headshot (i.e., head and shoulders, professional attire) in color as a minimum 300dpi JPG.

Past Recipients

- 1988 George Wallace, developer of Denver Tech Center
 1989 Jack Perlmutter, "father" of U.S. pre-tensioned, precast concrete
- 1990 Philip Milstein, *visionary planner of downtown Denver & Honorary Denver Landmark (only human so designated)*
- 1992 Robert G. Tointon, Hensel Phelps Construction
- 1992 Peter Teets, Martin Marietta Aerospace
- 1994 William J. Martin, Public Service Company
- 1995 Joseph Rodriguez, Exabyte Corporation
- 1996 Roland C. Rautenstraus, University of Colorado & contributions to higher education/progress of engineering
- 1997 Parker Stafford, Martin Marietta & space program contributor
- 1999 Ralph Trapani, CDOT & transportation/environment contributor
- 1999 James McAnally, Lockheed Martin & aerospace program contributor
- 2001 Tom Norton, CDOT, legislator & president of Senate
- 2003 Kristy Schloss, Schloss Engineered Equipment Inc. & entrepreneur in international markets and higher education and encouraging of women pursuing engineering professions
- 2004 Eric Wilkinson, PE, general manager of northern area Colorado Water Conservancy District

- 2005 Steve Abt, Colorado State University Interim Dean
- 2006 Bernard Amadei, University of Colorado professor & founder of Engineers Without Borders
- 2007 Hal Simpson, State Engineer
- 2008 Peter Binney, director of Aurora Water & Prairie Waters Project leader
- 2009 John Fetcher, Steamboat Springs Ski Area conceiver
- 2010 Sandra Woods, PhD, dean of engineering at Colorado State University
- 2012 Paul Bartlett, PhD, dean emeritus of College of Engineering & Applied Science at University of Colorado (Denver)
- 2013 Dick Wolfe, Colorado State Engineer
- 2014 Johnny Olson, PE, CDOT incident commander for flood recovery & repair
- 2015 Fred Travers, PE, Bureau of Reclamation, Bridge Building Contest
- 2016 Gary Reynolds, PE, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs Facilities
- 2017 Jill. S. Tietjen, P.E., Technically Speaking, Inc.
- 2018 Jackie Millet, PE, Mayor of Lone Tree, Colorado; co-chair for Let's Go Colorado Campaign
- 2022 Dixie Shear, PE, Jefferson County resident engineer